April 18 Pappas BBQ

Pappas isn’t some place we just decide to go eat at.  In fact, I think I’ve only eaten at a Pappas restaurant twice in my entire life.  I think Chad has eaten there a few more times than I have.  Last night, we finished prepping our stuff for the upcoming MS150 bike ride so we were trying to decide what to eat for dinner.  Having eaten out every night, neither of us had a craving for anything so I decided to dig into our trusty bank of gift cards and one of the cards in there was for Pappas with a total of $7.72 left.

The last time we went to Pappas BBQ a few months back, we ordered the Texas Sized Dinner which was supposed to feed 2-3 people.  Chad didn’t think it was that much food.  After all, the meal consisted of 1/2 lb each of three meats, 3 sides and some bread.  BOY were we wrong.  I think that was meant to feed 2-3 Texas sized people, not 2-3 Asian people.  We had so much food leftover, we could have fed another 2 people!

This time around, we weren’t going to make that mistake and I guesstimated that our $7.72 giftcard would likely pay for half of our meal.  Upon arriving, we ordered the Mixed Platter which had beef, ham, sausage, ribs and pulled pork along with 2 sides so we got corn and mac ‘n cheese along with an extra side of fries. Once all the food was on our tray, we knew we made the right decision.  How one person eats all this food on their own is beyond me!  Our total for the meal was about $16!

Pappas

For the price, we got so much food and it was mostly all good.  I think the two items that were surprisingly good were:

1. The fries.  Holy moly.  They were fresh out of the deep fryer and whatever seasoning they used was delish!  I’m not a fan of fresh cut fries because they always come out soggy but I don’t know how they make these.  I couldn’t stop popping them!

2. The ribs.  Ribs are always such a hit or miss with me.  These ribs had both the crunchy side for those that like their meat a little crispy AND the fall off the bone side for people like me.

Everything else was par.  Nothing too exciting or crazy.

Leave a comment